Project description

The PBR is created by four independent loop reactors with a reactor volume each of six litres. Every reactor is highly equipped with instruments. Besides classical parameters (temperature, pH-value, airration rate) also optical density and light climate will be controlled or steered.

The aim of the project is to search for optimal/suboptimal cultivation parameters and their influence on the physiology of microalgae.

The research happens in cooperation with Prof. Dr. Ulf-Peter Hansen, Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Schulz (Working group Plant Cell Physiology and Biotechnology) and the company BlueBioTech GmbH.

Image of computer controled photobioreactors

Image of four computer controlled photobioreactors. © K. H. Vanselow, FTZ

Publications within the project:

Marxen, K., Vanselow, K.H., Lippemeier, S., Hintze, R., Ruser, A. and U.-P. Hansen (2005) A photobioreactor system for computer controlled cultivation of microalgae. Journal of Applied Phycology 17(6): 535-549. (DOI: 10.1007/s10811-005-9004-8) Abstract

Marxen, K., Vanselow, K.H., Lippemeier, S., Hintze, R., Ruser, A. and U.-P. Hansen (2007) Determination of DPPH radical oxidation caused by methanolic extracts of some microalgal species by linear regression analysis of spectrophotometric measurements. Sensors 7(10): 2080-2095. Link  Paper

Marxen, K., Vanselow, K.H., Hintze, R., Lippemeier, S., Ruser, A., Egge, B., Colijn, F. and U.-P. Hansen (2010) Comparison of two different modes of UV-B irradiation on synthesis of some cellular substances in the cyanobacterium Synechocystis sp. PCC6803. Journal of Applied Phycology 22(6): 677-690. (DOI: 10.1007/s10811-010-9507-9) Abstract

Hoffmann, M., Marxen, K., Schulz, R. and K.H. Vanselow (2010): TFA and EPA productivities of Nannochloropsis salina influenced by temperature and nitrate stimuli in turbidostatic controlled experiments. Marine Drugs 8(9): 2526-2545. (doi:10.3390/md8092526) Abstract  Paper

Funded by:

State of Schleswig-Holstein


Dr. Kai Marxen, Dr. Maren Hoffmann, Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Schulz, Dr. Klaus H. Vanselow